This locality attracts visitors by its architectural monuments and wonderful nature. Near the village of Maniava and the Maniavka River, squeezed by a mountain range, there is located the Maniava Orthodox Monastery. It was founded in the early 17 th century by the monk lov Kniahynetsky of Tysmenytsia after his trip to Athos. As early as 1620 it had already several dozens of monks. Life at that time was not quiet. In 1676 a Turkish detachment ruined the monastery. With the assistance of patrons of art it was rebuilt by 1681. Next misfortune came in 1785, when, according to the reform of Kaiser Josef II, most monasteries in Galicia were liquidated. It resumed its activity for the third time in the 1920s. The biggest structures in its territory are the wooden Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, the entrance tower, and tower the treasury. Not far away from the monastery there is one of the most beautiful Carpathian waterfalls. Those who want to see it are advised to arrange an excursion, or avail themselves of the monks’ services. The historico-architectural museum “The Hermitage of Maliava” is found in the village of Maliava.
After the monastery was liquidated in 1785, the monks sold the iconostasis created under the supervision of the monk lov Konzelevych to the community of vil. Bohorodchany. Having experienced many dangerous adventures in the 20th century, this memorial of world significance occupied a deserved place at the exposition of the National Museum in Lviv.
A little more than a hundred years ago a real oil boom could be observed at NADVIRNA (first mentioned in 1596). Today only separate derricks attest to the history of the “oil-fever.”