Bakota is situated 55 km. away from the railway station of Kamyanets-Podilsky. The name of this locality, which used to be the political and administrative center of the Dniester lowlands until the 14 th century, cannot be found on the maps of modern Ukraine. In 1981 it was flooded by the Dniester reservoir. Bakota was first mentioned in the 13 th century. After the Galicia-Volhynian principality came to an end, it became the property of Koriatovych brothers. Travelers come there to revel in marvelous landscapes and to see the remains of the old monastery over the White Hill the beginnings of which date back to the 10 th-13 th centuries.
First written reference to the locality dates from 1024. There is a version that St. Anthony took part in the foundation of the monastery for it has much in common with Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra and Anthony’s caves in Chernihiv. In the 13 th century the Mongol invaders destroyed the monastery, and it was completely destroyed by a landslide that happed as a result of an earthquake. For a century the cloister fell into oblivion. It was only in the late 19 th century that digs were carried out on instruction of the imperial archaeological commission. They discovered the remains of cave-cells, a woman’s burial and a cloistral church. In 1893 a wooden temple was built in place of the old Rus church. Bishop Dymytriy of Podolia and Bratslav consecrated it. The ceremony was held in the presence of numerous believers from Podolia and Moldavia. The church survived till 1960.