Chervonohorod is a settlement whose scenery is rightly considered one of the most picturesque in Ukraine. According to some researchers the name of the locality is linked with the color of the mountains (Ukr. chervony = red) surrounding it. Others assert that it was derived from the name of the old Ukrainian city of Cherven. The fortress was first mentioned as far back as the 12 th century. During Lithuanian rule Chervonohorod was in possession of the Koriatowicz family, later it passed over to the Buchatski-Jazlovetski kin. In 1434 the settlement obtained the status of a royal city, and a few years later, Magdeburg rights. The Ukrainian magnate M. Danylovych began to build a stone castle there in 1615. Also at that time, owing to the efforts of Dominican fathers and financial support of the Lisecki family, sprang up the Roman Catholic Assumption Church. The fortress was in part ruined by the Cossacks in 1648, and by the Turks in 1672. The locality became deserted for many years. The situation changed in 1778, when Chervonohorod became the property of Carol Poninski. His son Kalist pulled down the old defensive walls and completed construction of the palace. On the neighboring mountain Helen Poninski built a mausoleum for her late children. Their tomb was decorated with a beautiful headstone executed by B.Torvaldsen. Today it is kept at Lviv Picture Gallery. Maria Lubomyrska was the last owner of the palace. Two ruined pseudo-Gothic towers (arch. T. Maklovsky) are all that can be seen today. During the Second World War, as a result of the Polish-Ukrainian conflict, most of the inhabitants perished, and the locality became depopulated. Since 2003 an Orthodox monastery has been functioning beside the ruins.
Not far away from the palace, on the Dzhuryn River, there is the highest waterfall (16 m.) in the Ukrainian flat country. According to a legend, during a siege, the Tatars, trying to deprive the defenders of water, directed the river into another bed. The troops moved away, and the waterfall remained.
It is not easy to get to Chervonohorod. You will not find this name on modern maps. So 7 km. beyond vil. Tovste, near the railway station in vil. Vorvulyntsi, you should turn to the right and go 5 km. to the turning in vil. Nyrkiv. From the hill, over the sloping ground road opens up an incredible panorama of the palace ruins. While preparing for a journey it is worth taking into account weather conditions.