The town of Chynadieve was first mentioned in the 13 th century. At that time it was called Sent Miklosh. The remains of a fortified palace of the 14th-15 th centuries (built by baron P. Pereni) can be seen in the center of the town. In contrast to most of the Transcarpathian fortresses it was a witness of frequent internecine conflicts rather than a defensive structure. In 1657 it was seriously damaged by Polish troops. During Nazi occupation the castle was converted into a prison. Today the structure has been privatized and the new owner tries to breathe new life into the old walls.
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonder-Worker is another sight to be seen in the center of Chynadieve. This temple dates from the 14 th century. At that time it belonged to the Roman-Catholic community. With time the Ukrainian population in Chynadieve grew in number, so the church was handed over to the Greek-Catholic community. After reconstruction the church acguired the features of a fortified structure. In 1814 a tower was added to the western facade, and the nave and the altar were reconstructed. In 1900 Count F.Schonborn proposed, on the occasion of his daughter’s marriage, to build a church or school, for choice of the local residents. The latter chose school.
Today the Church of St. Nicholas belongs to Orthodox believers, and Greek-Catholics attend the Church of St. Elijah built in 1937.
The Palace of Schonborns-Buhgeims cannot but impress a traveler with its nicety and architectural perfection. It seems it has been created by a magician who masterly combined the architectural distinctiveness of the building with the adjacent park (architect Ferenc Baschinda, 1849). The palace was built as a summer and hunting residence by request of Count Ervin Friedrich Schonborn. It was most intensively used by Count Friedrich-Karl Schonborn-Buhgeim.The building has come down to us with minor outer and inner changes. It is a massive pentagonal structure with two round three-tier towers at the corners. The walls were executed without excessive architectural details. Decorative loopholes were placed along the perimeter of the building, over the windows of the second floor. Numerous fireplaces inside can be considered additional decorations.
She was proud of the beauty and architectural perfection of the dwelling-place, which attracted numerous guests and family friends. Once many well-known personalities rested here. The postwar history of the estate is a process of its conversion into a resort. Opened in Soviet times, the sanatorium “Karpaty”(Carpathians) has been functioning to this day.
It is said that once there were two underground passages that connected the premises of the first floor. The architectural design of the palace embodies an interesting idea: it has 365 windows, as many as there are days in a year; 52 rooms, the number corresponding to that of the weeks; and 12 entrances, the number of months. The pond was designed in an original manner as well. Its lakeside line repeats the outlines of the then borders of Hungary.