Numerous archaeological findings testify to the fact that people settled in the territory of modern Fastiv in the Stone Age. However, it will become obvious only after visiting the Museum of Local Lore… Kyiv and Kyiv region inhabitants have no majestic pyramids or huge stone images in their territory. The reason is quite simple: it is the traditional building material – wood or earth. Masterpieces created by our ancestors were probably good, but not durable. The oldest wooden structure, which is exhibited at the museum in the open near Kyiv today, is older than 250 years. In comparison with the age of the Egyptian tsar’s valley it is nothing. At first sight there is no evident proof, no history. However, it is a faulty opinion – the burial mounds (also the monuments of ancient times) could not resist the course of time so easily. As to Fastiv and Vasylkiv regions, they abound in these earthen pyramids. You will be told how they were discovered and about the results of research at the museum found in 9 Radianska St.
First written reference to the city dates from 1390, when the Lithuanian prince Vladimir Olgerdovich confirmed the princes Rozhanovskies’ right to vassal frontier lands. Founded in the frontier territory of Kyivan land it remained an advanced post of the capital throughout centuries, so its history was similar to that of the capital.
Important developments of 1918 took place both in Kyiv and Fastiv. The treaty of the union of the Ukrainian People’s Republic and the West-Ukrainian People’s Republic was signed in Fastiv in December 1918. Near Fastiv railway station there is an old carriage housing a museum on the wheels. Its exhibition mirrors the moving moment when the leaders of two governments -L.Tsehelsky, D. Levytsky, V.Vynnychenko, Semion Petliura and others – siqned the document that declared the birth of the Ukrainian State.
Besides the above-mentioned museums, you are advised to visit two architectural monuments refering to two branches of Christianity. The first one – the Roman Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross (1 Ziqmund Kozar Square) – is situated behind the market. To get there you should drive down Soborna St. to the intersection with Chervonoarmiyska Street. Built in 1903, after the project of V.Dombrovsky and F.Troupyansky, the temple is distinguished for its perfect forms, sumptuous decorations and exquisite stained-glass windows. The church has the consecrated copy of the wonder-working icon of Jesus of Fastiv, and the organ presented by the countess Branicka. In 2005 the church was renovated and re-consecrated.
Another sanctuary, the Orthodox Church, is linked with the name of the Fastiv colonel S.Paliy. In the second half of the 17 th -early 18 th centuries Fastiv became the center of the so-called “Paliy’s State.” With the permission of the Polish government Pally raised a Cossack regiment to defend the frontier against the Turks. The colonel took care not only of military affairs, but also of domestic economy and civilian population. The economy of the city and the adjacent territories grew as well as the authority of the colonel. This fact disturbed the Poles and the hetman of the Left-Bank Ukraine. At long last, in 1704, the intractable colonel was exiled to Siberia, and the Cossack Church, built in 1740 over the Unava River, was called Paliy’s Church in memory of this prominent figure.
The Intercession Church with the belfry is to be found beyond the bridge across the Unava River, at the beginning of Pushkin Street. A stone in memory of the Fastiv colonel was installed opposite.