The origin of the name “Halychyna” (Galicia) remains disputable. The city of Halych was first mentioned in 1138. In 1141 Prince Volodymyr Volodarevych made it the capital of a principality. The city reached its fullest flower under Yaroslav Osmomysl. In the mid-18 th century Danylo of Galicia, trying to weaken positions of the local boyars, transferred the capital to the city of Kholm. As a result Halych began to decline. In 1772 new Austrian power, taking into account the historical past, named its newly acquired territories “Halychyna.”
The castle of the town head is the principal architectural memorial of Halych. First written reference to fortifications in place of the castle dates back to 1114. First made of wood, they were replaced by stone structures starting in 1367 by order of King Kazimierz the Great to protect the city against Tatar assaults.
In 1658 Count Andriy Potocki built a new stone castle (architect Francois Korassini). In 1676 the king sentenced the local commandant to death for surrendering the garrison to the Turks commanded by Ibrahim-Pasha almost without fighting. The Turks blew up the fortress, which was not restored for a long time. A monument to King Danylo stands in the main square of the city.
The Church of the Nativity is situated in the center of town. It was first mentioned in 1550. More than once it was ruined, but restored again and again. In 1825 its appearance underwent radical changes. Its present-day appearance the church acquired in 1904-1906 (architect L.Levinsky).