The small city of Husiatyn has been an administrative border between Ternopil and Khmelnytsky oblasts for many years. Formerly the USSR – Poland frontier ran along the Zbruch River. In spite of “living together” the difference in the quality of architecture is obvious even today. First written reference to Husiatyn dates from 1431. In 1455 the owner of the town, the big landowner Jan Swerrz of Vilkhivets, began to build a fortress there. In 1574 Husiatyn became the property of the Kalinovski family. Martin Kalinovski in 1610 built a Bernardine parochial church and the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin. The temples were built in late-Gothic with Renaissance elements (1610-1625). In 1946 monks were banished from the temples by Soviet power. Today it is a functioning Roman-Catholic church.
The Church of St. Onuphrios (second half of the 17th cent., 12 Nalvvaiko St.) is an architectural monument that proves connection between Podolian and Moldavian architecture. It was built as a defensive structure. During Turkish rule (1672-1683) it was converted into a mosque. Today it is a Greek-Catholic church. The remains of defensive wall can be seen around the temple. However, the most famous architectural monument of the city is the Gothic-Moresque synagogue (15A. Pushkin St.).The Jewish community appeared in Husiatyn as far back as 1577. In 1861 Mordokhay Fridman founded the dynasty of the local saddiks. From 1870 to 1872 he was the owner of the local palace. In the early 20 th century the Jews made up two thirds of the town’s population. Most of them were annihilated by the Nazis during the war. Over the last few years the tombs of the Fridmans family have been restored in the local cemetery.