Khmilnyk (63 km. away from Vinnytsia, 43 km. to Letychiv) is a well-known Ukrainian health resort. In 1934 radon springs were opened here: In the 1950 s – 1960 s a number of sanatoriums were built around them. High content of mineral components in the water makes it possible to effectively treat loco-motor system diseases, nervous system, and cardiovascular diseases.
Khmilnyk is far less known for its historical sights, although they are worthy of note. The city sprang up near the tragically known Black road by which the Tatars and Turks came to Ukraine. Khmilnyk was first mentioned in 1362, when the Lithuanian prince Olgerd won it back from the Tatars. The next owner – Fedir Korybut Nesvytsky -swearing allegiance to the Polish king, converted the city into an important frontier outpost of the state. In 1534 the crowned hetman Jan Tarnovsky enclosed Khmilnyk with stone walls and fortified the castle. This fact notwithstanding, in 1594 it was all the same seized by the Cossack detachments of Severyn Nalyvayko.In 1659 here was the residence of hetman Ivan Vyhovsky. In 1672 the Turks occupied the city and retained it till 1699.The remains of the octahedral mosque of defensive type, which was linked with the fortress by an underground passage, testify to their stay in the city. In 1768 in the vicinity of Khmilnyk the Russian army commanded by General P. Krechetnikov smashed the Polish insurgents. After joining the Russian Empire the city lost its strategic significance and turned into the provinces. The local castle has in part survived to our time. At the beginning of the 20 th century it was reconstructed, and now it represents a mixture of a few architectural styles. In 1911 -1915, near the old walls on a hill over the Bug River, the count Kostyantyn Ksido built a palace in neoclassical style (arch. I.Fomin). From the side of the river it looks like a fortress, and from the opposite side (the main entrance) as a typical estate of a provincial aristocrat. Yet another sight of the city is the baroque Roman Catholic Church of the Beheading of St. John the Precursor. During the Turkish rule it was in part destroyed. Fragments of mural paintings of the early 20 th century have been preserved in the restored interior.