Letychiv is situated in the locality where the Vovk River flows into the Southern Bug. In the 12 th-13 th centuries this ancient settlement was part of Kyivan Rus and became a town under Princes Koriatovyches. The main architectural relics are situated in the center of town. They were built in the early 17 th century when headman J. Potocki allotted money for the foundation of Dominican cloister (50 th Anniversary of October St.). Construction work lasted from 1606 to 1638.
A local legend maintains that Potocki, as a Protestant, forbade Dominicans to enter the town. However, on seeing a miraculous radiance over the place of their prayers in the steppe, he returned to Catholicism. The Turks who possessed Podolia from 1672 to 1699 destroyed the monastery, but in 1724 it was restored. The Roman Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary in the territory of the monastery has been preserved. Architecturally it combined Gothic style and baroque. On request of the royal power J. Potocki built up stone fortifications. The remains of the eastern corner tower, which is 10 meters in diameter, evince their effectiveness and dimensions.
On the highway, near the town of Letychiv located on the Southern Bug, there is an extraordinary fish market. Sellers offer smoked bream, cat-fish, roach, crayfish. So it is worth taking an opportunity.