Skip to content

Liadova

The village of Liadova is situated not far away from Mohyliv-Podilsky (154 km. from Vinnytsia). Besides beautiful landscapes created by rocky projections and the Dniester River, one shouldn’t lose an opportunity to see the remains of the local monastery of the 11 th-19 th centuries. Many legends have been composed about the monastery. According to the most probable one the monk Anthony Pechersky, on his way from Athos to Kyiv, heard “the voice of God” and founded a cloister. Most cells and altars were carved out directly in rocks. In 1745 the Russian authorities liquidated the Basilian monastery and placed it under Moscow patriarchy. Crypts and the remains of the Churches of the Beheading of St. John the Precursor, St. Paraskeva Piatnytsia, and St. Anthony Pechersky have survived to this day. In the territory of the monastery there is St. Anthony spring with healing water. The road to the valley leading to the monastery is a difficult one, so you should take into account weather conditions.

Spread The Love, Share Our Article

  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Twitter

Related Posts