Lubny was founded on the Sula River by the grand prince Volodymyr Sviatoslavovych in 988 as a fortress for defending the southern borders of Kyivan Rus against steppe aggressors. In 1107a battle with the Polovtsians took place near the town in which our ancestors gained the upper hand. In 1239 the town was ruined by Batukhan and declined during the ensuing years. In 1589 head of Cherkasy, Prince OleksandrVyshnevetsky, received the right to build a fortress on Zamkova Hill. The new town was named Oleksandriv (after the name of the founder), and as early as 1591 was granted the Magdebur right. To the south of Lubny, in the terrain of Solonytsia, in summer 1596 the forces of Severyn Nalyvayko were encircled by the Polish troops. Severyn was taken prisoner and later quartered in Warsaw. The revival of Lubny took place in the 16 th century when the family of the well-known magnates Vyshnevetskies converted Lubny into the main city of the gigantic land latifundium, which contained dozens of towns and hundreds of villages with thousands of dwellers. There was built there the castle of Yarema Vyshnevetsky, famous for his participation in the war of Smolensk of 1632-1634, and suppression of peasant-Cossack rebellions of the 1630 s in Ukraine. The castle was one of the best in Europe for those times, in 1658 a Cossack regiment was quartered in the city. Before the battle of Poltava in 1709 Lubny remained the largest city in Poltava region. In the 18 th century, when Poltava became the principal town of the province, Lubny turned into the district provinces. Places of interest are as follows: the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin (165 Lenin St.), the Diocesan school (1908,11 PaskinSt.), the building of the rural hospital (1913-15, 16LTolstoy St.), Lubny Museum of Local Lore.