The road leads southward, where Mariupol spread out on the seashore. The old settlement in the mouth of the Kalmius River obtained the status of a city in 1779, after the Crimean Christians under the leadership of Ignatiy Mariupol sky resettled here. The memory of this event has been preserved by local toponyms such as Urzuf, Yalta, Mangush, Khersones. And the name of the city came from Mariampolia – the Greek township near Bakhchisaray. Immigrants from the Crimean settlement brought a sacred relic with them – the wonder-working icon of the Holy Virgin. For a long time it was kept at Mariupol temple, however, during the stormy events of 1918 it enigmatically disappeared. Now its copy and the relics of Metropolitan Ignatiy are kept at St. Nicholas’ Church. In the early 20 th century the city turned into a large metallurgical center and port. The rapid development of industry in Soviet times nearly destroyed one of the characteristics of the Azov city state – namely its a climatic and balneological resort. Only lately the ecological situation has begun to improve.
Greek culture is an important constituent of the cultural legacy of the region. The museum of history and culture of Greeks of the Sea of Azov maritime regions was opened in the outskirts of the city, in the village of Sartana. Its exposition elucidates the history of Greek diaspora from the epoch of migration to the present time. The Mariupol Museum of Local Lore will acquaint you with exhibits from the archeological digs of Amvrosiy site (30-10 thousand years of age), a burial ground of the Neolithic Age, archeological finds of the Scythian period. The ethnographic collection of the museum reflects the mode of life of the inhabitants of the multinational city. Paintings by the famous fellow countryman – the artist A. Kuindzhi – are exhibited at the show-room. All the museums are situated in the center of town, where old buildings have survived here and there.