According to a legend, the old Rus city of Myriv existed in the 10 th-11 th centuries 3 kilometers east of the modern town of Nemyriv. The remains of the ramparts of the ancient settlement destroyed by nomads are rising above the steppe even today. When Prince Olgerd liberated this territory from the Tatars in 1331, a new settlement sprang up in a more convenient place. In contrast to the previous one, it acquired the name of Nemyriv.
First written reference to it dates from 1506. In the mid-17 th century it was in possession of Yarema Vyshnevetsky (1612-1651) who provided it with a coat of arms. From the Vyshnevetskies the settlement passed to Joseph Potocki (1673-1751). In 1787 King Stanislaw August Poniatowski sojourned at Nemyriv. In 1803 and 1811 terrible conflagrations annihilated its architectural face. On November 28,1821, the Russian poet N. Nekrasov was born in this city. The Trinity Church (1806) and the Roman-Catholic Church of St. Joseph the Wheelwright (1803), built on money of Stanislaw Potocki, have survived in the center of the city. On entering the city, over the bridge, which serves as a damn, it is worth paying heed to the electric power station built in the late 19 th century after the project by the Czech architect Irjy Stibrol (26 a M.Gorki St.).
The city’s largest enterprise is the vodka distillery, which puts out its produce under the trademark of “NEMIROFF.” It was founded in 1872 by count, Major-general Grigoriy Stroganov. After the count’s death the business passed to his daughter Maria, Scherbatova by surname. The latter proved a rather active person and in the early 20 th century her firm began to export its alcohol to Western Europe.