The city of Novomoskovsk appeared in place of the Cossack settlement of Novoselytsia. It has the wooden Holy Trinity Cathedral (1775-1780), which was built by folk masters on money of Colonel A. Holovatyi, and is the largest of its kind in Ukraine. Its original architecture has been partially preserved: in 1888, because of emergency condition, it was reconstructed.
At the exit from Novomoskovsk in the direction of Dnipropetrovsk, on the bank of the Samara River, there is Samara St. Nicholas Monastery. Its foundation is linked with the deed issued in 1576 by Polish king Stefan Batoriy by which he confirmed the right of the Cossacks to these terrains. Here they founded a fortification with the wooden Church of St. Nicholas and a few living quarters, where “Cossacks wounded and mutilated in battles” were accommodated. In 1602 the fortress became a monastery. In the course of the 17th century it was attacked and ruined more than once.
However, in 1670 the monastery was restored and a new church was built, Monks actively supported the Cossacks in their struggle for Ukraine. In 1690 the monastery passed under the care of the Kyiv-Mezhyhirya monastery. In 1732, with the assistance of Colonel Danylo Apostol, the refectory temple located there was consecrated. Restored and fortified, the monastery withstood the siege of the Tatar troops in 1736. In 1778 the Greek metropolitan Ignatiy Gotfiysky paid a visit to the monastery. With his blessing, in 1787 the stone St. Nicholas Cathedral appeared and was sanctified in place of the wooden church. From 1791 the monastery became the residence of Yekaterinoslav higher clergy. In the 19 th century the Transfiguration Refectory Church and a guest house were built in the territory of the monastery. In 1816-1820 new monastic cells were built, and in 1838 the heated Church of St. George was consecrated. After Soviet power was established in Ukraine, the monastery was closed. From 1928 to the 1960 s its premises were used as the house of invalids, and then as a boarding school for children with mental diseases. In 1998 it was returned to the Church (Moscow patriarchy) and its restoration began (1 Monastvrska St.).