Pidhaitsi was first mentioned in chronicles in 1539. In 1667 the detachments of the Tatar-Turkish hordes were defeated there. At that time, the future Polish King Jan III Sobieski with his detachments contained the eastern inroad for more than two weeks. In 1675 the town was destroyed by the troops of Ibrahim Shishman-pasha. In 1698 F.K.Potocki smashed the Tatar forces once again. In 1915-1917 the Russian – Austrian front line passed through Pidhaitsi several times, leaving behind heaps of ruins. Among surviving relics there are the Dormition Church (1650-1653), and the ruins of a Roman-Catholic church (1634) located beside the main street.