On the outskirts of Nadvirna and the village of Pniv survive the remains of a defensive castle. The fortress was built in the latter half of the 15 th century as a residence of the Kuropativs noblemen. The name of Nadvirna speaks of the fact that this territory was occupied by the castle’s servants. In 1648 the Cossacks under Semion Vysochan ruined the castle. In 1676 it suffered from a Turkish attack. It was the property of the Seniavskies and Tsentners, and in the 18 th century passed to the state. Today only the remains of the towers and walls and picturesque landscapes remind one of the former palace and powerful defensive installations.