Sharhorod is the district center on the Murashka River situated 90 km. away from Vinnytsia, known from 1393 under the name of Kniazha Luka, and from 1585 through 1859, as Sharhorodok. In 1579 construction of a fortress started in the city. The owner of the city at that time, Jan Zamoysky, named the fortress and the city in honor of Florian Sharyi, the founder and protector of the Zamoyskies’ house. The city was built up by the Italian architect Bernardo Morando. However, the location of the fortress proved inconvenient because it was exposed to enemy fire from the hills above the river. In 1595 and 1648 the Cossacks ruined the city. The Turks seized it in 1672. They assessed its strategic location in a worthy manner and renamed Sharhorod “Kuchuk-Stambul”-Small Stambul. In 1699, when the Poles returned to the city, the palace was already badly damaged. Attempts were made to restore it, but now it is just the remains of ruins.
Most memorials are situated in the main Lenin Street. St. Nicholas’ Monastery of Sharhorod (23500. c Sharhorod, Vinnytsia oblast. 78 Sviato-Mvkolaivska St.) was founded in the 17 th century. First situated in the village of Kalynivka, it was transferred to the city in 1747. At that time Greek-Catholic Basilians were in charge of the monastery. After it was joined to the Russian Empire it was converted into a theological seminary, and later, into a college. The monastery has three temples, namely: the Church of St. Nicholas, built in classical style in the likeness of the Alexander Nevski Cathedral in Petersburg, and consecrated in 1829; the Church of St. Archistrategos Michael, rebuilt from the refectory in 1874; the Church of the Kazan’Icon of the Virgin. During Soviet power the monastery was closed and converted into a museum, and later, into economic premises. In 1992 it was passed to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church. In 2000 the monks of the Dormition Pochaiv Lavra brought to Sharhorod a copy of the wonderworking Pochaiv icon of the Virgin, which became an esteemed sacred object.
Opposite the monastery, as a witness of the Poles’stay in the city, stands the Roman-Catholic Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Virgin. It was built in 1627 and reconstructed in 1791 in baroque style.
The synagogue of defensive type (1589, V. Lenin St., opposite “Stare Misto” cafe) is one of the oldest Judaic sacral structures of Ukraine. It was built as part of the defensive system of the city. The Jewish community was annihilated by the Nazis. Part of old tombstones has been preserved in the local cemetery.