Subotiv – the family estate of the Kmelnytskies – was named after the Suba River that flows nearby. In 1616 Michael Khmelnytsky, father of the future hetman, became the owner of the farm. When he perished in a battle against the Turks near Tsetsora in 1620, the property passed on to the son. Because of the quarrelsome neighbor, Chyhryn head D.Chaplynsky, the life of Bohdan was not quiet. During one of Chap-lynsky’s attacks on the estate, the head’s servants killed Bohdan’s younger son Ostap and stole his wife Motrona. Khmelnytskiy broke loose from a trap and made for Zaporozhian Sich. After he was elected hetman, a large war broke out, which was completed with the creation of the Cossack state.
A prominent architectural monument of the 17 th century, St. Elijah Church (1653-1656), has survived in the settlement in Subotiv. Built of sandstone on a high hill, the church had defensive purpose and was simultaneously planned as the burial vault of the Khmel-nytskies. The temple is a good example of sacral Ukrainian baroque. According to annalistic testimonies Bohdan Khmelnytsky was buried there in 1657. In 1657 the notorious nobleman Chaplynsky again took the estate and, after a legend, burnt down the body of the hateful opponent. However, archaeological researches of the 1970 s made it possible to assume that before the encroachment of Poland the Cossacks did a manhole through which they dragged out the hetman’s coffin and reburied it. Today next to the church there are crosses of the old cemetery and a tombstone with the inscription “Zinoviy Bohdan Khmelnytskiy”. In the 19 th century the temple was twice restored, and in 1874 a bell tower was built. In the 20 th century authorities closed the church two times. In 1923-1941 it was turned into a rural club and then into a granary. From 1962 to 1990 the memorial burial-vault of the hetman operated inside the temple. Divine services were resumed in 1990.
Not far away from the church there is located the castle (palace) of B. Khmelnytsky. It existed from 1616 to 1664.The castle was destroyed by the Polish troops. Archaeological expeditions in the 1970 s and 1990s dug out in the territory of the castle the remains of stone walls, and executed a reconstruction of the dwelling premises of the 19 th – first half of the 20 th century. There is a plan of recreation of the site of the settlement.