Sutkivtsi (12 km. away from Khmelnytsky – Kamyanets-Podilsky highway, and 15 km. from Yarmolyntsi) has an interesting architectural relic of national significance. The Intercession Church-Fortress has no analogues in Ukraine and Central Eastern Europe. It is believed that the nobleman F. Sutkovsky began its construction in 1476. The initial building of the temple was of a clear Gothic character. Four semicircular towers with battlements have been preserved to this day. The temple and the local castle made up a single defensive system. The walls of the church are 1.5-1.6 m. thick and have 95 loopholes. The present-day appearance of the church is the result of reconstruction carried out in the 18 th and 19 th centuries. The remains of old decor and the gravestone of Ivan Vasyliovych Sutkovsky have survived in the interior of the church.
One of the towers of the castle found on the neighboring hill has been preserved as well. The fortress was built on money of Fedor Sutkovsky in place of an ancient settlement. Occupying an area of 66 x 60 m. and encircled by walls with corner and gate towers, it became a serious obstacle for enemies. Unfortunately, its incessant fortification proved helpless during the Tatar invasion of 1567. It is assumed that 0. Balaban who had married Varvara Sutkovska reconstructed the castle in 1643. From the end of the 17 th century the fortress lost its defensive significance once and for all and began to ruin. As of today only the remains of the walls and the eastern tower survive.