The village of Sydoriv is situated 13 km. away from Husiatyn in the southeastern part of the village, on a high mountain; there are the picturesque ruins of the Kalynovskies’ castle. In 1640 the crown hetman assistant Mykhailo Kalinovskr carried out a serious reconstruction of the castle. In 1672 the fortress was destroyed by the Turks. Wars in the territories adjacent to the border lasted till 1683. In the early 18 th century the Kalinovskies returned to the village. After their death, starting in 1770, the castle belonged in turn to the noble families of Menchynskies, Koritovskies, Pangherts. In the mid-19 th century the castle’s old walls were abandoned once and for all.