The name of Terebovlia is derived from the old-Rus term terebivlia, i.e. a place burnt out in a forest. It was first mentioned in the Ipatievo Chronicle in 1097. The Volhynian Prince Vasylko desired to make it his own capital. In 1241 the city was attacked by the Mongol-Tatars. In 1340 it was conquered by King Kazimirzthe Great. In 1366, on the table of an impregnable mountain, over the Hnizna River, the Terebovlia castle was erected in place of a wooden fortification. (From the center of the city you should go along T.Shevchenko and Zamkova streets, and further through the gate, by serpentine, upwards). The remains of the fortress walls are 4-5 meters thick. On the brink of the mountain there are a big and two smaller towers, and the remains of the gates that look like an arch. In 1524 the Lithuanian-Ukrainian troops annihilated several thousand Tatars near the city. According to a legend, in 1675, when the Turkish army surrounded the fortress, and the defenders began to lose heart, the wife of the commandant, Anna-Dorota Hszanovska, swore to her husband that she would kill him and herself should he surrender the fortress to the enemy. It produced an effect, and the fortress withstood. The inhabitants had erected two monuments to the heroine, but they were destroyed. Today the remains of one of them are found near the fortress. Another story links the city’s salvation with the protection of the icon of God’s Mother of Terebovlia, which is presently kept at St. Yura’s Cathedral in Lviv.
The Turks ruined the castle in 1688 once and for all. The remains of the Carmelite defensive monastery, built 1617-1635 (architect P.Ozhga), are located in 3 T.Shevchenko St. Its architecture combines Renaissance and Baroque features. The church and living quarters of the monastery are behind the high wall with four defensive towers at the corners. The loopholes at the towers were adapted for shooting not only rifles, but cannons as well. Today a theological seminary of the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church is functioning in the territory of the monastery.
The parochial Roman Catholic Church of SS. Peter and Paul (119 VolodymyrVasyliovych St.) was built in 1927 after the design of Prof. A. Shyshko-Bohush in the style of old Christian basilica, which is 40 x 20 m. in plan. After the war two towers were destroyed and converted into a house of culture. A Doric colonnade bound with a reinforced concrete belt on top has been preserved to our time.