Tiachiv is interesting due to the fact that the Ukrainian-Romanian frontier is running almost across the city. In a comparatively narrow river fishermen are quietly engaged in fishing in the territorial waters of the neighboring country.
The time of the city’s foundation is not certain. In chronicles Tiachiv was first mentioned in 1329, with reference to the Hungarian king Karl Robert’s charter. The first mention of the city’s coat of arms is dated June 28, 1701.
The well-known Hungarian artist Simon Hollosy, who headed Munich art school and founded the creative artists’ union in Nodban (Hungary), lived and worked in the city from 1914. On May 1,1992, a bronze bust of the artist made by the Hungarian sculptor EmikeTovt was inaugurated in the center of Tiachiv.
Built in the 12 th century by the king Ladislav the Great the Roman-Catholic Church was handed over to the adherents of Calvinism (29 Lenin St.) in 1556. its roof is covered with gaily colored tiles.The temple was reconstructed in 1748 and 1810. Its walls are fortified with strong buttresses. The nave is decorated with paintings of the mid-18 th century. Until 1944 it housed a very rich Maramaross library.
The Greek-Catholic Intercession Church (91 Kosut St.) was built in 1852. However, it was first mentioned in 1801, when it was a wooden structure. Present-day icons and the altar were made in Budapest workshops. There are two bells in the belfry: one was made by the master F. Egri (1924), and the other came from the Romanian city of Arad, and was initially intended for the cathedral in Syget. In 1948, after the Greek-Catholic Church was forbidden, it was transferred to the Orthodox community.