Trostianets the village over the river of the same name belonged to the Skoropadsky family from 1820. In 1834 the descendent of the Left-bank Ukraine’s hetman laid out a park here. Monument to Ivan Mykhailovych Skoropadsky was erected at the entrance to this real museum of nature. According to his testament the master was buried in Trostianets dendropark. The park was his life-work. There were created artificial landscapes, “mountains,” ponds, marvelous glades and groves. Exotic plants – cedars, thujas, yew-trees and spruces – were brought here from all the corners of the empire. Numerous birds – swans, woodpeckers, nightingales, and others – inhabit the arboretum.
Bird’s twitter harmoniously supplements the rustle of the leaves, the sound of the trees, the breath of the wind. This park was created for romantic walks and solitude. Unfortunately, the wooden palace has not been preserved. Only subsidiary premises, which now house the dendropark’s administration (tel.: 8 (046…) 24758), and belong to the National Academy of, Sciences of Ukraine, have survived. The park is open for visitors all the year round. Overnight stay is possible at the estate “Hunter’s Hut.”