The well-known health resort-city state Truskavets is situated at picturesque foothills, nine kilometers away from Drohobych. The city is buried in verdure, and its unusual atmosphere makes itself felt on the approach to the city’s center. First written reference to the city dates from 1469.
An old Rus’ defensive settlement was located in this place. The origin of the city’s name has been a point at issue among historians up to this day. The official date of foundation of Truskavets as a resort is 1827, when premises for the first eight balneology baths were built there. Despite the fact that therapeutic properties of Truskavets waters had been known long before, for the first time they were described in 1578 by the royal doctor Wojcech Ochko. The German scientists N.Fiechtel and B. Hake carried out serious researches. The scientist of Armenian origin, Theodore Torosevich, for the first time carried out chemical analysis of the famous mineral water “Naftusia” in 1836. In 1892 there were built premises for inhalation. Due to the level of service and chemical composition of mineral water Truskavets was on a par with such celebrated resorts as Reichenhall and Wiesbaden. Considering the prospects opening before the city there were intensively built private hotels, villas and boarding guest houses. With the purpose of improving investment climate a joint stock company was founded in the city in 1911 and headed by the well-known entrepreneur Raimond Jaros. Under his leadership Truskavets became one of the first cities in Galicia to be fully electrified. To provide more comfort for arrivals a modern railway station was built in 1912. In 1913 Truskavets was awarded a Great gold medal for the progress in the development of the therapeutic base. The city’s great popularity is proved by the fact that in 1923 it received 6,080 holiday makers, and in 1933, 17,000.
Among historical structures of Truskavets special attention deserves the surviving wooden villa “Hopliana” (1928). It was built in the so-called “Zakopane” style, which at that time was popular in Poland. In the 1930 s the ambassador of the United States in Poland, presidents of Turkey, Estonia and many other honorable guests paid a visit to Truskavets. Today the villa “Hopliana” is occupied by museum of the People’s artist of Ukraine, Mykhailo Bilas. After September 1939 villas, boarding houses, hydropathic establishments, and restaurants were nationalized. During Nazi occupation the resort was converted into a military hospital. After the war Soviet “eccentrics” turned the famous European resort into a collective farm. It was only in 1950 that Truskavets obtained the status of a city again, and in 1952, the title of “All-Union health resort.” More than 350 thousand visitors come to Truskavets annually. It is one of the largest European health-improving centers.