Yazlovets – the “Key to Podolia,” a city of traders, craftsmen and monks-after years of oblivion and neglect is gradually reviving. The local castle, situated on the narrow isthmus of the high mountain between the Olkhovets and Yazlovchyk rivers, has been known since 1436. The fortress was built to defend the way from Lviv to Moldavia. The Armenians, Greeks, and Turks were persistently traveling through the towns of Podolia, Lviv and Zamost markets. The family of Buchach, which later became the Yazloveckies, was the owner of the town and fortress. In 1448, 1550-1560 s, and 1575-1595 Fedir, Yuriy and Mykola Yazlovecki respectively rebuilt the fortress. In 1643 the castle became the property of Oleksandr Konecpolsky, who turned it into an ancestra, estate. Misfortune came to Yazlovets in 1672, when the Turks seized the castle and its fame fell into oblivion, although in 1684 it was in the hands of the Poles again. In 1747 Stanislaw Poniatowsk rebuilt it into a palace.
The next owner, K. Blarzowski, passed it over to Marselina Darowski who founded on its basis a nunnery and a boarding school. A vault for nuns was built in the park behind the palace. It was made in the likeness of Roman catacombs. In 1973 Soviet power liquidated the nunnery. Until the 1990 s the place was used as a sanatorium, but in course of time most of the structures came to desolation.
The local community takes care of the former Armenian Church of St. Nicholas (1551). The Renaissance-Gothic Roman-Catholic Assumption Church built in 1589-1590 is yet another architectural monument. In 1609 the prominent Polish composer, Mikolaj Homolka, was buried there.